News: "Mad Max: Fury Road" named 2015 Best Film by the National Board of Review

The National Board of Review has once again ushered in the Oscar season with the surprise announcement of George Miller's highly acclaimed reboot MAD MAX: FURY ROAD as the 2015 Best Film of the Year. Some of the buzziest films of the season like "Carol", "Brooklyn", "Steve Jobs" and "The Revenant" did not receive any mention at all but "Straight Outta Compton", "Creed" and "Sicario" - three of my favorites this year - made the list alongside "Room", "Bridge of Spies", "The Hateful Eight", "Inside Out", "Spotlight" and "The Martian".

Below is the full list of the awards given by the National Board of Review:

Best Film:  Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Director:  Ridley Scott – The Martian

Best Actor:  Matt Damon – The Martian

Best Actress: Brie Larson – Room

Best Supporting Actor:  Sylvester Stallone – Creed

Best Supporting Actress:  Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight

Best Original Screenplay:  Quentin Tarantino – The Hateful Eight

Best Adapted Screenplay:  Drew Goddard – The Martian

Best Animated Feature:  Inside Out

Breakthrough Performance:  Abraham Attah – Beasts of No Nation & Jacob Tremblay – Room

Best Directorial Debut:  Jonas Carpignano – Mediterranea

Best Foreign Language Film:  Son of Saul

Best Documentary:  Amy

William K. Everson Film History Award:  Cecilia De Mille Presley

Best Ensemble:  The Big Short

Spotlight Award:  Sicario, for Outstanding Collaborative Vision

NBR Freedom of Expression Award:  Beasts of No Nation & Mustang

Top Films
Bridge of Spies
The Hateful Eight
Inside Out
The Martian
Straight Outta Compton

Top 5 Foreign Language Films
Goodnight Mommy
The Second Mother
The Tribe

Top 5 Documentaries
Best of Enemies
The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution
The Diplomat
Listen to Me Marlon
The Look of Silence

Top 10 Independent Films
45 Years
Cop Car
Ex Machina
It Follows
James White
Mississippi Grind
Welcome to Me
While We’re Young

NBR President Annie Schulhof said, “2015 has been a banner year for popular cinema. We are thrilled to be awarding George Miller and Ridley Scott, two iconic filmmakers at the top of their game, while also celebrating the next generation of talent.”

The 2015 Gala will be held on Tuesday, January 5, 2016 and will be hosted by Willie Geist.

Raymond Lo

No comments :

Post a Comment