Awards: WGA and USC Scripter Noms Announced

"Gone Girl", "Wild", "The Imitation Game" earn double noms from WGA and USC Scripter! 

Two influential award-giving groups announced their nominations for the best screenplays of 2014 today.

The Writers Guild Association announced their selections for motion pictures, TV and other media. The movies they nominated are:

Boyhood, Written by Richard Linklater; IFC Films
Foxcatcher, Written by E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman; Sony Pictures Classics
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Screenplay by Wes Anderson; Story by Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness; Fox Searchlight
Nightcrawler, Written by Dan Gilroy; Open Road Films
Whiplash, Written by Damien Chazelle; Sony Pictures Classics

American Sniper, Written by Jason Hall; Based on the book by Chris Kyle with Scott McEwen and Jim DeFelice; Warner Bros.
Gone Girl, Screenplay by Gillian Flynn; Based on her novel; 20th Century Fox
Guardians of the Galaxy, Written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman; Based on the Marvel comic by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning; Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
The Imitation Game, Written by Graham Moore; Based on the book Alan Turing: The Enigma by Andrew Hodges; The Weinstein Company
Wild, Screenplay by Nick Hornby; Based on the book by Cheryl Strayed; Fox Searchlight

Finding Vivian Maier, Written by John Maloof & Charlie Siskel; Sundance Selects
The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz, Written by Brian Knappenberger; FilmBuff
Last Days in Vietnam, Written by Mark Bailey & Kevin McAlester; American Experience Films
Red Army, Written by Gabe Polsky; Sony Pictures Classics

The USC Libraries, meanwhile, have named the authors and screenwriters of "Gone Girl", "The Imitation Game", "Inherent Vice", "The Theory of Everything", and "Wild" as finalists for the 27-annual USC Libraries Scripter Award. Scripter honors the screenwriter or screenwriters of the year’s most accomplished cinematic adaptation as well as the author or authors of the written work upon which the screenplay is based.

The finalists are, in alphabetical order by film title:

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn, author and screenwriter
The Imitation Game, author Andrew Hodges, who wrote the book Alan Turing: The Enigma, and screenwriter Graham Moore
Inherent Vice, Novelist Thomas Pynchon and screenwriter Paul Thomas Anderson for
The Theory of Everything, Jane Hawking, author of Travelling To Infinity: My Life With Stephen, and screenwriter Anthony McCarten
Wild, Screenwriter Nick Hornby and author Cheryl Strayed’s for her memoir Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

The Friends of the USC Libraries established Scripter in 1988. Previous Scripter winners include the screenwriters and authors of "12 Years a Slave", "The Social Network", "A Beautiful Mind", and "The English Patient."

Raymond Lo

No comments :

Post a Comment